2+2=5? Free Quilt Pattern

I had this really cute charm pack sitting around for, oh, what felt like forever. It was the Nicey Jane charm pack by Heather Bailey. These prints cried out vintage goodness to me!

Without cutting them up too much, I whipped up this quick block.

And this quilt, for sale here.

Then this one, for sale here.

I just couldn’t stop, they came together so quickly. Without further ado, here’s the pattern:

2+2=5? Pattern:

For each block you need:
2 – 5″ squares (charm squares)
1 – 2 1/2″ x 5″ rectangle (cut a charm square in half)
2 – 3 3/4″ x 11 1/2″ rectangles

To assemble, sew the 2 1/2″ x 5″ rectangle in the middle of the 2 5″ squares. This makes the center ‘column’. Then sew one 3 3/4″ x 11 1/2″ rectangle to either side of the center. You will have a 11 1/2″ block.

Lay out all your blocks and switch them around until you like how the second background fabric is spaced. Then sew together the blocks and your done.

To make a baby size quilt (44″ square) you need a total of 16 blocks.
Materials:
1 charm pack of 40 squares*
1 yard background fabric
1 FQ second background fabric
1 1/2 yards backing fabric
batting for 44″ by 44″ top

To make a twin size quilt (66″ by 88″) you need a total of 48 blocks.
Materials:
3 charm packs of 40 squares each*
3 yards background fabric
3/4 yard second background
5 yards backing fabric
twin size batting

*Any 5″ squares will work for this, you don’t have to use charm packs. I do a 5″ swap with the guild I attend and those squares would work great in this too.

For the ‘All Things Boy’ quilt I used 5 inch I-spy blocks I’ve collected.

Edited to add: I would LOVE to see any blocks/projects you create with this pattern! Feel free to join & share in my Flickr group: BlueStripedRoom.

Leave a comment