Welcome to Delaware AMB fans!

Delaware was the first state established in this awesome country of ours, so I get to be one of the lucky to go first to share my quilt block and a little about the state I live in: Delaware.

When I was asked to create a quilt block representing the state of Delaware for the American Made Brand’s launch of their solid fabric collection, I have to admit, I was a little stumped. I mean, don’t get me wrong, Delaware is a great place to live and all, but there’s not really a landmark or icon that everyone automatically associates with Delaware.

Naturally, I asked a bunch of locals what the first thing they think of when they think of Delaware is.

The Beach, Blue Hens, chicken farms, farms in general, the riverfront in Wilmington, and the Beach.

I do so love the beach and how quickly we can get there!

Rehoboth-Beach-Delaware-1_photo

Towers Beach, Image Source

So, I ran with the beach idea while trying to incorporate a common image we see in Delaware, the big D. Here’s what I came up with:

DSC_0313

There will be a free tutorial up on the 23rd for how to make my Delaware block (edited to add link) along with the giveaway winner, and I’ll be linking it back to this post.

One of my absolute favorite things about Delaware, aside from the beach, is the history. There are walking tours in Dover that you can see some of the oldest buildings and artifacts in the state. Fort Delaware is a common tourist attraction with a little ferry ride to top it off. And, the Wilmington Riverfront is definitely a fun place to day trip to.

800px-Fort_delaware_aerial_photograph_2011

Fort Delaware, Image Source

Another favorite is the local markets. Spence’s Bazaar in Dover is a fun place to treasure hunt. In New Castle there’s a huge farmer’s market with a big parking lot full of antiques, yard sales, and fun stuff. There is also a CSA program run by Fifer’s Orchards that delivers to pick up locations all over the bottom half of the state, “from farm to fork” they say! They also have one of the best corn mazes in the fall, here’s one from 2013:

2013 fifer's corn maze

Fifer’s 2013 Corn Maze, Image Source

 

On to the best part of this post: THE GIVEAWAY!

 

AMB Giveaway

 

American Made Brand is giving away a Fat Quarter bundle of 8 of their fantastic solids!

 

::::Giveaway is now closed::::

 

You can get an entry for each of the following, leave a comment for each entry:

-Leave a comment telling me something you think of when you think of Delaware (appropriate please)

-Go to American Made Brand and tell me what what your 3 favorite colors are!

-Follow my blog

-Like my Facebook page

-And an extra for doing all 4!

 

The giveaway will end at 6pm on May 23rd, and winner will be determined by random.org.

 

Thanks for stopping by for a visit and be sure to travel the rest of the US through this wonderful blog tour!!

669 thoughts on “Welcome to Delaware AMB fans!

  1. Pingback: Delaware License Plate Block & Giveaway Winner | BlueStripedRoom

Leave a Reply

