Around the World Blog Hop

I was invited by the amazing Julie of Jolie Maxtin. She’s a good friend I met a few years ago at my very first quilt retreat. The woman is a magical quilter and the fastest binder I know!

My apologies for posting this two weeks late, the flu hit two in my household (thankfully I made it through unscathed) so not much room for blogging/crafting.

What am I working on?

I’ll be honest with this one, I have a long list of what I’m working on right now. I think I have crafting ADD….

There are some lofty goals for the beginning of this year for me, and tackling my WIPs is definitely one of them. Other than that, there are quite a few fun things I’m working on.

I’m trying to wrap up a surprise ROY G BIV project:

wpid-20150126_120642.jpg

And, I’ve been turning my postage stamp 9 patches that I was doing for the #scrappypostagestampqal on Instagram into 16 patches. I think joining the larger ones will be easier.

wpid-20150126_120547.jpg

There is a wonderful pile of Churn Dasher blocks, from my first time being the Queen Bee in a quilting bee, that I need to add just a few to that will hopefully make their way to a finished quilt soon.

Also, this month I’m the Quilter for the Promise Circle of do.good.stitches quilting bee on Flickr. Here are the blocks I have received so far:

wpid-20150126_121635.jpg

Why do I create?

The age old question, why? Simply put, I create because I feel I need to. I’ve always been driven to make things, anything really. I learned to crochet at 5, and that was only the beginning. I’ve always been intrigued with the process of making things. All through school, the only part about history class I ever really payed attention to were the parts about how people used to make things, or the ways that people used to garden. One of my favorite school memories was making candles by dipping in I believe 5th grade. I like things simple, and I love the process! That doesn’t mean I don’t like a project that’s a challenge (those are great too).

I enjoy every part of creating something, from selecting materials and patterns to every stitch involved (not so much the stitches that sometimes have to come out though…). Being able to give someone a gift that I have made especially for them is such a blessing to me.

I’m not forwarding to any other bloggers, but would love to leave this blog hop open to anyone who would like to participate!

Leave a comment